To start the Duplicate Finder tool, open CCleaner and go to Tools, and then select the Duplicate Finder. This presents the following options:
- Ignore files under X MB (default of 1)
- The Duplicate Finder will not show any files smaller than the threshold if this option is checked.
- Ignore files over X MB (default of 1,000)
- The Duplicate Finder will not show any files larger than the threshold if this option is checked.
- Search only user folders (Downloads Pictures, Movies, etc.)
- This setting is selected by default and is highly recommended as it will make it less likely that files needed for the OS and installed programs would be removed.
- Search entire disk
- This will allow the Duplicate Finder to look over the entire drive. Please note that this can cause problems with installed programs or the OS if files that they need are deleted.
Please note that all of the selected criteria must apply to files for them to be considered duplicates - for instance, if set to ignore files under 50 MB and only to search your user folders, then files with the same name that are, for instance, only 25MB in subfolders of your Downloads folder would not be shown.
Once configured to your satisfaction, to start the Finder, click Search.
You can delete files by ticking the checkbox and selecting Delete Files. If you select each file in a group, then the final file's checkbox will be greyed out in order to ensure that at least one version of the file remains. Please note it is not safe to remove all the duplicates CCleaner finds.
Which duplicates should I delete?
The Duplicate Finder can search for files that may be duplicated on your drive; however it isn’t able to determine which files are needed and which can be safely deleted.
For this reason, after searching for duplicate files, we recommend that you review the file path and, if necessary, the file itself to ensure that it is in fact a duplicate and not needed by a program on your computer.
It is normally safe to delete duplicates of your personal pictures or films, but as before, ensure that you verify the file path and the content of the files before deletion.
If you have determined that, for instance, every duplicate file detected by the search in your Pictures library is a picture that you no longer want, then you could typically delete these files safely.