We explain how you can clean your Windows operating system using CCleaner's Custom Clean. If you want to find out more about Windows Explorer's specific cleaning rules in CCleaner, skip to Files and data you can clean in your Windows operating system further below.
What is Custom Clean?
Custom Clean is a function within CCleaner that allows you to customize how the app cleans different parts of your PC, such as your operating system and applications (like web browsers).
What are 'cleaning rules'?
These are the specific files and data that you allow CCleaner to delete from your system. You can see some in the screenshot below as checkboxes you can select beneath the Windows tab.
Files and data you can clean in your Windows operating system:
- Empty Recycle Bin - If you select this checkbox, CCleaner will empty your Recycle Bin. It is possible that this rule won't remove the files in the Recycle Bin. For more information, see this troubleshooting article on the Recycle Bin.
- Temporary Files - We can delete the Windows temporary files which are not in use. By default, CCleaner only removes files that have been left without access for 48 hours, as deleting newer files can reduce your computer's performance. You can change this to clean all temp files in the Advanced Settings.
- Clipboard - CCleaner will clear the contents of the Windows Clipboard.
- Memory Dumps - When Windows crashes, it stores small memory dumps so that technical users can debug their systems. CCleaner can delete these files, but we wouldn't recommend doing so if your computer is still having problems as this can prevent effective troubleshooting.
- Chkdsk File Fragments - These are clusters and chains that are left over after you run CHKDSK. CCleaner can delete them.
- Windows Log Files - Windows logs many events and activities, such as access, policy changes, internet use, tasks, and so on. As a result, it scatters dozens of the logs it creates across the system. CCleaner can delete these. Much like with memory dumps, we do not recommend deleting these if the computer is having problems. This may prevent effective troubleshooting.
- Windows Error Reporting - Whenever a program crashes, Windows saves details of the crash and reports it back to Microsoft. This option cleans all the error reports from your system. Much like with memory dumps, we do not recommend deleting these if the computer is having problems. This may prevent effective troubleshooting.
Note: We do not recommend using the following items regularly. They are, instead, included for troubleshooting purposes.
- DNS Cache - When you visit a website, Windows attempts to speed up future visits to that site by writing its DNS information to the DNS cache. This option clears out the cache so that Windows can start storing DNS information from scratch.
- Font Cache - Windows caches commonly-used fonts to optimize performance. This option clears the cache so that Windows can rebuild it.
- Start Menu Shortcuts - This option deletes invalid Start menu shortcuts (they point to files that no longer exist).
- Desktop Shortcuts - This option deletes invalid desktop shortcuts (they point to files that no longer exist).